Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Sunset

Today has been like summer, but Sunday is forecast to feel more like winter again. The 75th anniversary VE Day celebrations made a welcome change form the Covid-19 news. I know this pandemic is described as our “war”, and it is, but I somehow can’t help feeling that in so many ways we have it easy compared to the war years. We are just being asked to stay home, and we know that people won’t drop a bomb on it while we are asleep. Different stresses I suppose. It does seem odd that the opposite was happening 75 years ago, from being under their own lockdown people were all crowded together. The world is the complete opposite today. 

Anyway there was a nice sunset while we were watching the Buckingham Palace performance. 

The news today suggested the Age UK have been successful in getting the Government to recognise disabled and elderly that really need the extra help with online shopping.  It was tough until I got my name added onto the priority list to get a slot. Knowing I shouldn’t be going out for my health, never mind leaving Mr T without a carer (and therefore a huge drain on the social care system in my absence, as well as the fact if he caught it he has many of the high risk underlying health conditions..Now it seems that after 7 weeks they are starting to help. I participated in a Carers Trust unpaid carers survey and almost all unpaid carers felt overlooked in the crisis. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.