TMac

By TMac

Everybody Needs a Buddy

As Lockdown continues, most of us are feeling the effects of not being able to see our friends and family.
It seems like a lifetime ago when you could nonchalantly organise to meet a friend. How many times do we regret making excuses when we could have seen friends?

After 2 days of no walking, I forced myself to get organised for a walk. A friend had messaged the street Whatsapp group to say her daughters and the wee girl next door had baked scones (in their own houses) and would be offering them to anyone who wanted to pop up for one. They set up little tables at the end of their driveways and grinned across at each other.
I held off my walk so I could "pop past", in a socially distant manner, and grab a scone to take with me on my walk. I wasn't feeling very sociable but wanted the kids to feel appreciated...

6 hours later, we got up from our socially distant family bubbles a little tiddly after tea in a china cup descended into other beverages.
It was so so lovely but so difficult to have to sit so far away.
Another day without a walk and frankly, I didn't give a damn.
Wee Buddy sat on his owner's knee enjoying the chat.
I wish I could have picked him up and given him a cuddle (and a sneaky once over!)
It was a nice way to spend an afternoon and I felt all the better for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.