Gråborg

You will learn how to pronounce the Swedish letter 'å' so you can read the title. Pronounce a long letter 'a' and while you do that, change the sound into a long letter 'o' instead, Now, do it again and stop at the sound you achieve halfway, the mixture between a and o. That is our å, an a with an o on top. Done. 

I went to look at a potential house for me to buy this morning but it soon proved not to be a candidate. It was a most beautiful morning so I decided to take another way home and soon found myself in a place I recognised where I took a lovely walk a couple of years ago. I stopped and stepped out of the car, into a breathtaking landscape, completely still, with hundreds of birds singing in the warm weather. I stood completely still for a long time.

I hadn't planned to do anything but to go home, but I had to take a few steps into this atmosphere, away from the car, and my feet lead me through meadows littered with Orchids, Cowslip (Gullviva) and hundreds of other spring flowers. Through forest and over streams, till I realised I was over half way to the largest ancient stronghold on the island, Gråborg.

The main is from the entrance leading out of the stronghold. Gråborg was in use during two periods, AD 300-700 and the Middle ages 1175 to 1250. It has had a huge importance both as a defence and training ground but also as an important trading place for merchants around the baltic sea. Those with a historic interest can read more here .

The unexpected events during a day is often the best. This one I will carry with me for a long time. I can't resist putting in an extra of a perfect stone wall, built in the beginning of 1800 to keep the Kings Red deer out of the crops. At that time the King owned all the island and used it for his personal hunting ground. Theres something wrong with Blip today, the images ends up sideways.
Now I'm going to watch King Lear with Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thomson, another King with hubris. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.