Inside this Lady is a Baking Goddess

I took one peep out of the window at 5:30 this morning, noticed the wet patio and the waving trees and thought- Nah! Back to bed and a lie in under the duvet which seemed much more appealing than a cycle ride.
This decision was reinforced when Poppy in Orkney and daughter #1 in Cullen sent me photographs of snowballs. Ideal weather for the mantra “Stay home”.

Instead I dallied over breakfast, dallied over elevenses and then reinvented myself as a baking goddess with the production of one banana loaf, two gingerbreads and a tray bake of broken biscuit ‘stuff’. I might have gone on, but I ran out of baking essentials. I leave it to your imagination as to how much spoon licking I indulged in! Is it possible to bake without licking the utensils?
Never in the field of human endeavour have I baked so much at one go. I’ve taken my temperature and it is normal!

Eventually the sun appeared and I went for a route march round the Meadows along with far too many people. It worries me that the new mantra adopted by the government seems to be “stay alert”. It is too ambiguous, but I await Boris’s address to the nation tonight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.