Silly Saturday ....

.... White-crowned Sparrow. 

When I was sitting out on the deck this morning I kept seeing this unusual bird .... it's the first time I've seen this bird in our yard.  I had to look him up on the Merlin app to identify the species and it came back with the White-crowned Sparrow!  It's always so exciting to get new bird species coming to visit our feeders.  I also saw for the first time in our yard a Yellow-rumped warbler! Unfortunately I didn't get a photo of him/her. 

I was really surprised that so many birds were out today as I thought I would be the only one stupid silly enough to be out in the freezing cold temperatures!  We had a late season frost last night as it got below freezing .... and today we even saw some snowflakes at times. I was even surprised to see the baby Eastern Cottontail in my extra!

And even though today was very cold we still wanted to get out for a walk.  We know that the Plainfield Rail trail is some what protected from the wind so that's where we went.  And thankfully is wasn't as crowded as the other day.  We only encountered a handful of people so we were able to maintain the proper social distancing. 


Pennsylvania COVID-19 by the numbers (as of 12:00 PM today 5/09/20):
Positive cases in Pennsylvania  - 55,316 * (an increase of 1,078)
Negative cases in Pennsylvania - 221,791
Number of deaths in Pennsylvania 3,688 -  (an increase of 72)
Cases in Northampton County -  2,429 (158 deaths)

* Total case counts include confirmed and probable cases.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.