VEDAY75

Bunting proudly on display above the wall opposite The George pub in Leeds village was like a step back in time. The pub was adorned with red, white and blue bunting and the garden beautifully manicured and I felt a bit sad the doors remain closed.

In a world without the pandemic locals would have been in the pub garden having a merry time with the cheerful hospitality of landlords Jason and Deborah and chef Darren. Instead I raised a lone glass this evening to the memory of my grandparents and all those who fought in the war and gave the greatest sacrifice.

Today I celebrated the 75th anniversary of victory in Europe by dressing up 40s vintage style (see my Instagram for pics), baking cupcakes in Union Flag printed cases, walking and talking to the sheep, watching Her Majesty The Queen’s speech, singing along to #WeWillMeetAgain and waving my flag.

I missed the VE Day village party, vintage fly in and swing dance events I’d planned to attend and look forward to enjoying our freedom to celebrate together one day and staying in the pub until they ring the bell for “LAST ORDERS AT THE BAR!”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.