A strangely neglected shrub

Not the warmest of days today, tho' there have been bursts of sunshine. I didn't go out today - still creeping about like an oldie!

This plant is out on the deck beside the house, still in a pot - Piptanthus nepalensis, the so-called Himalayan Laburnum. I remember collecting seed of it in Nepal back in 1990, but don't seem to recall what happened to it, whether I grew any plants or not. I bought this plant. It's one of the many shrubs which are not commonly seen - I've no idea why. It's beautiful, easy to grow with glossy, evergreen, trifoliate leaves, flowers in the spring and grows a couple of metres high. I don't think I've ever seen one in a garden centre. I grew a whole batch last year from a packet of seed. Every garden should have one!

Quote of the Day:

Alfred Austin - "The glory of gardening: hands in the dirt, head in the sun, heart with nature. To nurture a garden is to feed not just the body, but the soul."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.