Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lockdown Day 48 - Waiting Patiently

A day when the warmest time was first thing in the morning and then the temperatures dropped as the wind increased as time passed.  I walked out at about 7 am for some exercise and to check on the two swans on their nests along the canal.  

Nest number one found the pen immovable and hunkering down against the increasing wind.  I have no idea whether any cygnets had hatched, but if they were there, they were cocooned under their mother's wings and couldn't be seen.  This is the expectant father, some half a mile further up the canal.  He appeared relaxed, at least enough so for a phone camera image.

When I got to the other nest again the swan was resolutely on the nest and immovable.  I did speak to an early dog walker who said that reports on the local Facebook group suggested the cygnets had hatched, but despite waiting around for them minutes or so, she didn't move so I headed on to complete my walk and get home for breakfast.

A fairly uneventful day, other than that.  I did watch our Prime Minister deliver his statement this evening.  We'll have to see if the change in emphasis and slogan has a material effect on behaviour.  Personally, I think it is a confusing message and the other devolved governments of the UK have made the right decision to retain the 'stay at home' message.  In truth, Nothing significant has changed in the guidance, so why change the message? 

I'm doing a retrospective on another journal at the moment, looking back 10 years to my all time favourite long distance walk from Coast to Coast.

Day Miles: 6.3 miles Total miles: 587.2  miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.