MONO MONDAY - HIGH KEY

I decided last night that I needed more structure to my day because I seem to spend a lot of time just faffing about, so I have made a Word document with space for the date and times split up into one hour segments and thought I would try to stick to these for a particular activity and then move on to something else.  I have made lists before, but mainly on scrappy bits of paper, so now, with proper typed out lists, I feel more "grown-up" and organised.

Well the theory is fine, but in practice, things don’t always work out, do they?  We had a grocery order being delivered this morning between 9 and 10 and the lovely Hayden was our delivery man.  He was as upbeat as he was the last time and while he was bringing all the bags down and leaving them underneath the carport, I chatted to him.  Of course, the weather was mentioned and it was jolly cold - that north wind was biting.  As he doesn’t have much hair, he did say he was sorry he hadn’t put his woolly hat on this morning as his head was rather cold.  Shopping delivered and put away, I then decided I had some vegetables that needed sorting out, so that was done next.

Then it was time to think about a Blip for today - the theme for Mono Monday is High Key - so as there is a function on my phone for this very subject, I decided to try it out.  I found some diaphanous material in my Blip bag, then not content with one shot or even two, I took about 50 shots and then had to sort them out.  I was determined not to faff around with editing, and this one has only been cropped but is otherwise SOOC.  The subject is the tiny milk jug from my Royal Albert tea set - the pattern is Lavender Rose and I have been collecting this, or rather collected it from quite early in our marriage until a few years ago.  Mr. HCB often bought me pieces for Christmas and my Birthday - the trouble is they are only a day apart, so I was rather inundated for several years, so I have a lot of Lavender Rose china.

Most of it is now on display on a shelf in the kitchen or in a kitchen cupboard, which is a shame, because it is rather beautiful.  I think perhaps I will get it down and use the various pieces - after all, as my dear friend, Sue’s mother always used to say, “Beautiful china is made to be used, not stuck in a cupboard!” and she was quite right too.  I wonder how many others have beautiful china that is never used - I doubt our grandchildren will want it, so what are we saving it for?

Well, that’s taken care of the morning - so I can write those things on my list - this afternoon from 2 until 3 I am going to try and sort out some of my photographs and delete the duplicates and any rubbish shots, then I will feel I have accomplished quite a lot today.  Then, of course, we have Afternoon Tea with our lovely neighbours - I know it will be chilly under the carport, but not as cold as it was yesterday - see my extra.  Not content with freezing when Martyn and Dawn were here, we still met for Afternoon Tea and we even had a quiz!  It was like being back in the middle of winter!

So what have I learned this morning - that we need to use what beautiful things we have - that lists are good, but won’t always be followed, because “stuff”  happens in my day - and that this day is mine to do as I please - regardless of what is on my list.  Happy Monday, folks.

“Rename your ‘To-Do’ list 
     to your ‘Opportunities’ list. 
Each day is a treasure chest 
     filled with limitless opportunities; 
          take joy in checking many off your list.” 
Steve Maraboli

P.S.  Typical of me - just looked at the theme for today and it says "High Key - outside if possible" - well that was never going to happen in this wind! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.