Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

‘Da Sistahood’

In case it wasn’t obvious, I am an anxiety sufferer. It’s not chronic & hasn’t resulted in a panic attack since I was pregnant, 6 years ago. My Mum tells me I’m a “worrier”; my CBT therapist tells me it’s called anxiety.

Whatever it is, it’s bloody awful & I’ve spent most of the past few days with the wicked little goblin, sat on my shoulder, eating away at me & pouring “pestilence into [my] ear”. There’s no point me trying to understand where it’s come from & why it’s with me right now. I won’t understand it at the moment but should hopefully arrive at some clarity surrounding it in a few days time. That’s usually the pattern of things anyway.

There were two clear points in my day today where the nasty little goblin had climbed down off my shoulder to presumably, go & pester somebody else for a bit.

The first was on arriving to work at the hub school in my town (the primary school where both my girls attend) & being welcomed in by the teacher in charge. We immediately lapsed into teacher chat, I took in my surroundings: I focused on 4 things (as instructed by my therapist)...it was school...it was familiar & it was a source of comfort.

The second clear point was when I took this photo of my girls.

This afternoon, they had some beautiful moments together where they were bonded & secure. This was one of them.

I’m fortunate to say, I have this with my own two sisters & it’s something I know my two girls will be privileged enough to enjoy with each other. I know this because they’re MY girls...

... and...breathe.

Relax...

Regroup...

Stay safe, stay well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.