Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

Boudica

I feel that it’s only fair, since Maggie has had some significant air time here, that I should introduce Boudica AKA ‘Boo’. This was her last Friday, observing the 11am VE Day silence. The photo was sent to me with the sentiment of “you see, she does have some integrity!...”

I think she’s about 14 years old now. She was originally ‘procured’ as a present for me but it soon became clear that she would be ‘Karl’s cat’.

Playful & cute as she was whilst in her kitten phase, I was definitely onto her...

She moved in with staff, rather than owners; the two dogs that we had at the time very quickly adapted to their new positions down the pecking order & Boo made it clear that her love for all of us, (apart from her head butler) would be unpredictable, unnerving & fragmented in its distribution.

I guess I don’t just speak for myself when I say I struggle to be the recipient of this kind of affection; it’s not really for me. It makes me feel weird at best.

Therefore, the cat & I soon arrived at a mutual understanding: I would stay out of her way & she would stay out of mine. All was well.

Needless to say, she now lives with my ex but when our marriage broke down, there was a period of time when she was still with me. She spent most of her time outside but there were some occasions, late in the evening & when the girls were definitely in bed, when Boo would come in & sit with me. She would be at one end of the sofa & I, at the other- we still adhered to the personal boundaries of one another- & I would chat to her as she miaowed back in response.

It was a strange kind of feeling when she went to join my ex in his new home. I wouldn’t say I missed her. That would be taking things too far, but it was a strange feeling nonetheless.

I often ponder on whether our pets bring their personality with them or whether we attribute it to them & I think I’ve arrived at the conclusion that it’s a bit of both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.