The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Home Field Advantage

I didn't travel very far this morning, only about half a mile down the road. I had intended to drive into town but ended up with my blip before I was outside the gate of the community where we live. I chose this particular image, tentatively titled "The Black Hole", because, well ... like I've said before, it's a zen thing. I chose it because I like it, I don't need to understand.

In choosing this image I passed up:

1. The close-up of a Robin, head cocked ever so slightly to the side, patiently waiting for breakfast to arrive. There were at least a hundred Robins in the field having one last fling I suppose before they leave for their summer homes up north.

2. A pic I tentatively titled "The Littlest Rainbow" that shows the decorative fountain in a small landscaped pond by the front gate reflecting rainbow colors in the morning sun. If I had ended up choosing this photo there's a Pete Seeger song, My Rainbow Race, I would have included in the journal entry.

3. A family portrait of the three swans who are residents of the neighborhood. I've never been able to get all three in the frame before.

4. It was a very windy morning and there's a pic of rushes by the edge of the pond blowing in the wind. A little Bob Dylan anyone?

5. A colorful Mallard and his mate swimming in the pond.

6. A Swans feather fluttering gently in the grass where it had fallen, droplets of morning dew glistening in the sun. This one nearly made the cut to become today's blip but not quite. I see a macro lens in my future.

So, that's how I spent my time. All in all a very productive morning for an old guy with a camera. Why drive in to town when your neighborhood holds such riches and you have a "to do list" sitting on the kitchen table?

.... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.