Beanpoles construction

Quite a sharp frost this morning when I went out at 6.30 to do the weekly shopping. It was forecast so it was a good job I covered the potatoes at the allotment with the veggie mesh from the brassica cage. Even so, a few leaves were nipped by Jack Frost.

Not so bad as Bob’s spuds which were badly damaged yet Paul and Ann we’re unaffected- all within a few yards of each other. I’ve left the covering on as more cold nights are forecast. Strawberries seemed to be OK as well.

Great run this morning after is finished the a conference call. A new route up the Downs and along the North Downs Way.

Today’s blip is of the fruits of my labour this afternoon. I’ve used canes for the last 9 years so I thought the time had come to do it properly. Dad used to source his beanpoles from the hedgerows on the estate where her was head gardener. I had to buy mine from a coppiced woodland although I confess to procuring a few extra poles from hazels along a lane. I’m very pleased by the effect and I hope the beans appreciate it and that the poles last a good few years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.