Happy 90th birthday Jim!

It's my friend Jim's 90th birthday today. A big party in an Edinburgh hotel to celebrate the momentous date has been cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic. However, Jim's daughter and grand-daughter were not going to let today's date pass unnoticed, so this morning they decorated Jim's garden with balloons in honour of his great age.

I guessed that Jim would probably be sitting outside this afternoon so I timed my over-the-garden-wall rendition of 'Happy birthday to you' for lunchtime. At the same time I delivered a birthday card and persuaded the birthday boy to pose for today's blip.

In other news I ventured on campus today, having yesterday made a special appointment to be allowed into my office to collect some papers and a couple of text books.

I also sorted out a problem with a prescription that had been delivered to the wrong pharmacy. Neither my usual pharmacist nor the one at the other pharmacy could understand why the prescription had ended up at the wrong dispensary. My medical practice couldn't explain this either.

This afternoon I tried out a radical 'lying in fields' strategy when playing Carcassonne with Mr hazelh. This seems to work. At least I won both games on this occasion.

Exercise today: walking (22,940 steps); 4.5 mile bike ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.