The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Mrs T 2146 hr (Tuesday 12th May 2020)

It is very strange being catless. The cat I had before Smokey was a black Burmese called Lucifer, who died just four months short of his twentieth birthday in January 2008 and I lasted until July before I met Smokey at a cat rescue centre in Trowbridge.
I haven't seen Twix very much but Mrs T has been a daily visitor both in the garden and the house, often coming in overnight to see if there's anything in the cat bowl. She never comes close enough to be touched but will carry on exploring in my presence. She does have a collar, unlike Twix, and is obviously being cared for, so I have only put a very small amount of leftover bikkies in the bowl so as not to upset her owner's diet regime. The bowl is now in the living room by the fireplace and Mrs T came in while I was watching TV.
I saw Mrs T again in the garden this morning.

L.
13.5.2020 (1010 hr)

Blip #3215 (#2965 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #010
Blips/Extras In 2020 #66/265 + #039/100 Extras
Day #3700 (840 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2344 (#2185 + 159 in archived blips)

Cats series
Old Forge series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Shadows - Wonderful Land (Mono Mix)(recorded 12 May 1961,  EMI Studios, Abbey Rd, London; extra percussion 1961/7/6; strings and brass 1962/1/18)
Shadows: Hank Marvin (Stratocaster gtr), Bruce Welch (rh gtr), Jet Harris (bass), Tony Meehan (dr, perc) with the Norrie Paramor Strings
There was a BBC4 documentary on The Shadows Story recently, reminding me what a fan I was of their music in my pre-teen years, and what an influence they had on the generations that followed. Wonderful Land was written by their friend Jerry Lordan, who had also written their breakthrough hit Apache, and recorded on this day in 1961. By the time it was released in February 1962 extra drums and tom-toms had been added, and finally the Norrie Paramor strings and brass. Whereas I normally look for stereo mixes to post online on this occasion I hunted down the mono mix used for the million selling single as the far more common stereo mix from subsequent album releases omits the additional percussion and therefore does not reflect the authentic sound heard at the time.

One year ago:
The Old Forge (Petunia)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.