LD 51 One shut, two apart

Two things struck me in Edinburgh first thing this morning walking down to the  Parliament.

The first is in the picture - I don’t think I have ever seen this busy hotel main door shut even in the wee small hours.   Add to that the sight of pubs boarded up and restaurants firmly locked and it does bring home the reality of the lockdown. 

That isn’t so visible in the countryside, where I have been for almost all of the last seven weeks, and neither is the second thing I observed .

In towns and cities it appears that the mechanics of social distancing on pavements are now well established and well accepted.  

Every one who passed me, or whom I passed on a short walk did what I was doing , either anticipating or moving quickly  to one side or even into the road (which is very quiet at present) to create at least the necessary two metres.

What a difference 51 days can make.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.