My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

'Testing' times

On my lunchtime walk it seems they've got the testing station for key workers up and running. It's not the station for NHS workers, that's still in the original place by A&E, and a different setup to Shrewsbury, so I guess this must be for all the other key workers (it does seem to be government organised) so that the fairly meaningless target of 100,000 tests a day can be hit.

As a former professional Biomedical Scientist I do take a little umbridge with the idea of all these 'testing' stations popping up. They're not testing centres, they are swabbing or sampling centres. The actual testing is done in laboratories by Biomedical Scientists with years of training and expertise. The media do a very bad job of portraying this and imply that labs can just be set up easily to analyse coronavirus samples, without equipment, without validation, without quality control, without accreditation, and presumably without registered staff.
If I'd known that I could have saved myself a whole load of time, effort, and money over the years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.