Journeyman

By AFoolOnTheHill

Blinded By The Light

My plan for today was to be in Repair/Maintenance mode. Spent the morning doing odd-jobs around the house and maintaining my guitars. This afternoon I repaired a much loved Tiffany Lamp that was up in the loft, this evening I will see all my neighbours at our weekly clap for carers, a very satisfying day.

My album of the day is "Dogs In The Traffic" by Glasgow rock/soul/funk band Love and Money. Three singles were lifted from the 1985 album, albeit my favourite track "Johnny's Not Here" was not one of them. James Grant has went on to have a successful solo career since the band split in 1994. They reformed for one night only at Celtic Connections in 2011, they were excellent.

Starting a three night residency on this day in 1974 I saw Status Quo with support act Montrose. Had never heard of this Californian based rock band who included Ronnie Montrose and Sammy Hagar., by the third night I was there to see Montrose. I liked Quo until they became a laughing stock after Live Aid, although I got back into their 70's material after reading Francis Rossi's autobiography "I Talk Too Much". 

On this day in 1975 I saw MAN supported by Cipollina. I had heard of guitarist Deke Leonard, however, the concert was flat and in my opinion a non-event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.