Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

An Ageing Tradition?...

Posting things has become a significant feature of our lockdown experience.

Both my girls love the whole process from the point of initial planning: Who will be the recipient? What will be sent? What size envelope should be used?...to the point where they can ceremoniously make the short journey to this postbox near our house.

It’s been very touching to watch these projects emerge. My eldest has often planned something quite small which has, like many of her projects, increased in magnitude to a point where it’s got a little testing: “can you order me a square canvas? I intend to mount this collage on it so it’s ready for [favourite cousin’s] wall as soon as she receives it.”

Meanwhile, my youngest has created some interesting postal projects, to say the least: the cereal box that she cut up into tiny pieces- some unsuspecting pieces with black pen scrawled vigorously upon- was a particular highlight. When questioned on the motivation behind her work, I was told they were some weapons for the superhero school that only she, her cousin & Mrs Owl are allowed to attend.

I have to say, I’ve enjoyed posting & receiving little things myself; It’s a nice way to let somebody special know that you’re thinking about them.

This particular tradition has certainly been resurrected in our household & I certainly intend to continue putting our great postal service to good use.

Stay healthy, stay in touch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.