Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

Friday Night: Party Night

My oldest daughter has become accustomed to a Friday night zoom with some of her pals (they’re “pals” because they live in Glasgow) of late & it has caused my youngest to experience some serious FOMO around the whole arrangement. She had particularly enjoyed not having to witness her big sister having any kind of social life so far but that particular reverie has sadly come to an end for her.

She asked, ever so politely if she & I could have our own party & I couldn’t resist the cuteness of her suggestion.

After bath time, she put on a party dress & chose one of my posh jackets for me which I was allowed to wear with my scruffy joggers, t-shirt & slippers (no bra) & was told looked “quite cool, actually”. I then had to be banished from the living room whilst what I can only describe as ‘areas of provision’ were established to provide our entertainment.

The activities included:

- Running along the sofa & diving onto a pile of cushions on the floor.
- Musical statues (music controlled by hers truly).
- Sylvanians corner.
- Drawing corner.
- Snack corner (the music had to be turned off for this & we had to wash our hands before & afterwards).

It took a little bit of persuasion to convince my daughter that the party needed to draw to a close by 9pm but we got there in the end.

Meanwhile, my eldest daughter’s zoom is still in full swing. She is wearing a top of mine as a dress, in line with the remit: “dress as though you’re 20 & you’re going out on the town”.

(To be honest, I can’t definitely swear that I wouldn’t have got a floaty top, gathered it in at the waist with a belt & teamed it with flesh coloured tights & heels when I was 20: That would have been a very likely possibility!)

Anyway, time to go & close down that party too; these lockdown evenings could get a little out-of-hand.

Stay fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.