Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Orchard Oriole

Another case of having to blip a particular thing. I spent quite some time hearing this bird and being unable to see more than a speck of it as it danced from tree to tree. Finally got one relatively clear shot of the entire bird. Most of them were like the extra, only worse. It was remarkably adept at keeping its head hidden behind leaves.

I've seen orchard orioles here in past years, and I think they nest here at this place. I saw an immature male a couple of days ago - still yellow, but with a black throat. But they don't come to my feeders. Even when I've occasionally tried putting out oranges, they seem uninterested. Maybe I should try harder, but I'm not inclined to put out lots of oranges and watch them rot or be eaten by other things. So getting a photo of one isn't as easy as it would be if they came down to the café.

All of which is to say - instead of a deer or a red-bellied woodpecker - today you get a male orchard oriole. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.