Kit's Year

By Kit267

Some Significance In Our Family

My Mum was a very keen and talented dressmaker and she made herself and us loads of clothes when we were kids. In my teens she taught me to sew too, although I never reached anywhere near her standard. She wanted to make my wedding dress but ended up just making the bridesmaids dresses instead as it would have been too much to do it all.

When she died Dad gave me all her sewing stuff, a big wooden box full of all sorts of threads and buttons and zips etc. I also got her sewing machine that was relatively new. My intention is to at some point in the future and when I have the time, is learn to use the machine (it’s much more complicated than her old one I learnt to sew on) and to start sewing again.

In the meantime there was a recent request on a local Facebook page for donations of buttons to make headbands for NHS staff to use to attach to their face masks to prevent their ears getting sore. So I had a sort through Mum’s box and put together quite a large collection of buttons to pass on. As I was looking, I came across these buttons obviously from a military uniform. There were three large ones and a small one, from a sleeve I would assume.

I have no idea where they came from...they are marked with “Royal Corps Of Signals”. I really must remember to ask Dad if he knows anything as I would hate to get rid of them if they have some significance within our family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.