Order Out of Chaos

....sort of a good metaphor for my efforts to impose some control over my own life. So far it's working pretty well, but the quilt is getting awfully large...

The more time I spend on Zoom, or watch things on television which in turn are on Zoom I am interested in seeing the backdrops people choose....Stephen Colbert's bathtub, Joe BIden's basement, Cate Blanchett's 20 volumes of the Oxford English Dictionary, the paintings, the sculptures, the dogs that wander in. I would love to be able to see the titles on the bookcases I have seen behind Dr Anthony Fauci, the weatherman on Channel 5, Nancy Pelosi, and many others. As a New York times commentator calls them...'credibility bookcases.' The Zoom background says a lot about how people would like to be perceived when they have a total choice regarding their immediate surroundings. 

It's pretty easy to maintain some control over our immediate environment, but the economy can't survive many more weeks of this, and what will happen when more people go back to work? Will we find ways to control the spread, or will we all become hermits? And how can we really figure out how to control the spread when we don't really understand what it is?

I wonder how likely it is that Covid19 will never really go away and just become another more deadly seasonal flu, walking among us when the weather turns cold every year? There is apparently a resurgence of cases in Wuhan. A vaccine is probably our best hope, if and when it is developed and approved, but what if  all the antivaxxers refuse to take it? 

These are the things I think about as I sew little squares together....unfortunately I don't have that much control over what I think about....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.