Victoria Yum

I am continually inspired by the enthusiasm and resilience of young people with this find today. I was wandering around the back of an industrial estate in a yard near the canal in Hackney when I happened on this bright scene. Victoria Yum is a baking business that supplies Selfridges and Harrods but produces the cakes at an artisan level - no industrial machinery here.

Obviously they have lost their usual market at the moment but they have opened up a small counter at this café outlet and are selling takeaways. Kirsten here explained that they are managing, just, but not surprisingly she's looking forward to the end of all this. 

The cakes looked delicious but my lunch at home beckoned so I didn't buy anything on this occasion. But I will go back next week and sample their wares. Thanks for letting me take the picture, Kirsten, and good luck. See you again soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.