Grubby's Blipfolio

By Grubby

In search of a Grasshopper Warbler

As the weather was vastly improved today and once our cul-de-sac coffee morning was over I drove out to a wildlife site called Waltham Brooks in West Sussex. I was on the hunt for an elusive Grasshopper Warbler which has been seen there over the last few years. Alas I had no luck today BUT I did add 4 species to my 2020 list, 3 of which are a bit special. They were a Swift (common from now on), then the 3 special ones being Nightingale, Turtledove (really special) and a pair of Hobbies that chased each other for several minutes.

I managed 31 species in total on my walk which took me about 2 hours (twice crossing the railway line seen in the pictures...not a train in sight but I was still careful). There were also several species of Dragon and Damselflies at one reed lined brook. I even managed a few photos. In the collage is a female Broad-bodied Chaser dragonfly and what I think is a male Azure Damselfly. I am waiting for the ID to be corroborated by my RSPB group with a bit of luck. A Jackdaw makes up the photos to 4.

What a great day for a stroll round the countryside.

I hope you are all safe and managing a bit of R&R.

2020 list stands at 121

118: Swift
119: Hobby
120: Nightingale
121: Turtledove

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.