Blips by cb

By cbimages

Silver Beauty!

And very expensive, I imagine.  There are no air displays at present, but I've just done a bit of fiddling with it – that's my excuse for using it today.

I took it at our local airfield, Little Gransden, in August 2011, when they had two P51 Mustangs flying – see the Extra. I used a shot of the other P51 ("Janie") to fulfil a FaceBook challenge and one of my former colleagues reminded me that the aircraft had been written-off in a crash at the owner's airfield, Hardwick in Norfolk.  The pilot was injured but survived, whereas his passenger died.

I had forgotten about the accident; I had met the owner and pilot some years before when he visited my airfield for a display authorisation from a colleague (an ex-CAA regulation officer), so it was rather fun to see him flying again.  But because "Janie" is no longer flying I selected "Marinell" for today's blip.

The P51 is reckoned by some to be a Cadillac to the Spitfire's MG (my choice of comparison) and I would dearly love to have flown the machine; but it's not a game for part-timers and I'm content to watch and listen (they make a glorious noise) when occasionally I see them fly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.