Lockdown Hat #6

A summer theme today though it’s not very warm yet.
Visors are ideal for keeping the sun off my face so I wear them when out walking in summer. They’re not quite so good for hiding lockdown hair though!

The earrings are interesting though it’s difficult to see both in the pic. They are my very favourite asymmetric pair. Let me explain...
Some years ago I went on holiday to Canada travelling by train from Toronto to Vancouver. At some point on the holiday I bought a pair of dream catcher earrings; and as most of them were it was two similar but not identical earrings. But I lost one. 
A year later I went to Antarctica and the ship sails from Ushuaia. On my return from Antarctica we had spare time in Ushuaia and I wandered along the seafront. In the little market was a stall selling jewellery and I fell in love with the earring in my left ear. On show were only single earrings so I asked the man if there was actually a pair and he said yes there was. He packed them up beautifully so I carried on happily. I didn’t open the package until I was home and lo and behold there was only one earring. Since the man in the market spoke no English and I spoke no Spanish I don’t know why I thought he understood me when I asked whether there were two but too late now.
But all wasn’t lost because I think it pairs up beautifully with the dream catcher that had lost its asymmetric partner.
My friend and I have a thing about wearing asymmetric earrings and it’s very rare anybody notices. Or maybe they are just too polite to say anything!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.