My Daily Life in Photo's.

By Mothermudd

Bedfordwell Pump House

I'd love to go look around this place, also love to have the money to save it, as I think its a pretty building.
 I wonder who built it! I must try to find out.

DATE: an 1881-83 engine house and attached boiler house built for Eastbourne Waterworks Co. Ltd. in Classical style. Architect Henry Currey. After 1923 a further floor was inserted into the engine house. 


Lots more found, It's Grade 2 listed, but why o why doesn't someone take care of it???

I copied some info from a site I found about it;-

The pump house was built in 1881 according to history, but it wasn’t a pumping station for long by all accounts (1883 – 1895) as the water was rank, and had since been used as council depot, workshops and lastly by Serco. The whole site has now been razed to the ground and only this building remains of the old water pumping station complex. There are plans afoot to turn the Eastbourne pump house into a luxury apartment block with houses in the rest of the grounds. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.