If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Jackdaw. (Coloeus monedula)

Another change from an endless stream of flowers nice thought they may be.  Anyone who know me will be well aware that birds are "my thing".  Currently Jackdaws and their larger cousins Rooks are not high on my popularity list.

Most springs we get Jackdaws and Rooks visiting the garden to feed.  This year there is a distinct shortage of small birds.   I am not sure if they are missing because they are intimidated by all the large birds, the Corvids are gobbling all the food or just that they are finding enough food away from the feeding station.  Currently I am blaming the Corvids!

Interestingly Corvids (crow family) will return to a known food source for up to 7 years after it has been removed.  Proving they have remarkable memories and clever brains.  I have to have the nut feeder fastened to the feeding station because last year a Rook worked out how to unhook it dropping it to the ground.   Then it was much easier to empty.  The Jackdaws have solved the problem by learning to hang on the nut feeder just like the smaller more agile birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.