Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Alley East

Another alley off Katoomba St (my One Street pick). This was interesting to me. I saw the alley in the morning, and took a shot - which was well washed out. The alley runs East, and the sky was bright, even though the sun wasn't directly visible. Thus I ended up with completely blown-out sky. I tried bringing the exposure down, and of course the buildings were over-dark. So I took a few bracketed exposures, with the intention of HDR-ing in Filterstorm, and carried on to work.

At lunchtime I opened them up and futzed around for a while. Very difficult, as they didn't align perfectly - and the result wasn't ideal anyway. So. Hmmph.

Afternoon came, and with it the sun in the Western sky. I had a brainwave: take the shot again, aiming for one decent exposure. I think that worked. However, mrs tsuken and I agreed on the B&W (larger here) over that colour one.

It's all about capturing the light properly, isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.