and through the wire...

By hesscat

Spring Clean

Oh dear, this must be my least exciting blip eva, but I was working overnight and then during the day so didn't take any other photos except these... and now I'm going to make it worse and blether on about something even more boring... feel free to stop here.

When I was selling one of my cameras a few years ago I noticed the sensor had some spots on it that showed up in a couple of photos and when I googled it there was much talk about cleaning it yourself, but advice was to get it professionally cleaned. When changing lenses, if not careful dust etc gets in and sometimes sticks. I've had this camera for about 2 years and recently noticed a build up of spots on the sensor so clearly I am not being careful enough. They only affect photos I take into the sun but most of the time you don't see anything. The tests shots here are taken to make the spots more noticeable. Just before lockdown I had contacted a local camera shop who never got back to me, so started googling some more. This time it seemed more feasible to do it myself, so the kit arrived today and these are the results. You get little paddles with cleaning liquid you only use once, and I used 3 of them - there's just a couple of light spots left so I will do it again soon, but it is a relief to be able to do it myself now rather than sending it away. Zzzzz....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.