and through the wire...

By hesscat

Ooh Ma Back!

This weekend has seen blipping drop down to the lowest priority for various reasons I'm afraid, today was moving my desk.

For 15 years my desk has been at the other end of our attic, and apparently I had been very happy there. I am at one end, and the rest of the attic is used pretty much as an attic, for storage (until the other attic, through a wee door on the left of this blip, is complete... yes I haven't touched it for aaages... ssshhh, I am psyching myself up for it!), where was I, oh yes, I was happy, until Mrs C had to work from home and I spent a day rearranging said storage to make space for her desk. With her only working from home once or twice a week, I looked down the attic to see sun shining on her and when I sat there it was so peaceful. I had always planned to make her end of the attic into space for Ms H to record her songs, and I started to think about moving my own desk down there. I trialled it for 2 weeks and made the decision this weekend, to move my actual desk down here, which took me all day today. First taking the desk down, then moving "the storage", then moving Mrs C's desk that I had been trying out for 2 weeks, then making space to shorten my desk, then fixing the desk to the wall. OMG I am knackered getting in all sorts of positions, some of which took a bit of time to get out of!

Physically it is pretty much the same, with a few improvements, but it's been a revelation in respect to the feng shui of my mind! I think it is the windows and quietness I appreciate the most. There is still some bits to do and the rest of the attic to reorg, but it's also opened up a lot of space.

As for Mrs C.... well she was happy to move as she will only be working here for a couple of weeks, but I will sort her desk out tomorrow night. I think if she hadn't worked for home, I probably would never have thought about moving. Ah well, ready for work tomorrow, can't wait...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.