BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 57

Imprisonment - Day fifty seven
Sunday 17th May 2020

Cycling Statistics
Cars - 4
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 2
Dog walkers - 0
Walkers - 0
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 7.1c

Having only seen four cars and two bikes this morning I wondered if I'd missed being told that we could go out at all today. My app showed that I managed to cycle my route in exactly an hour but unfortunately it only shows full minutes so I'm sure I will have been some seconds over the hour. I'll have to pedal faster tomorrow.

I've moved on from a boiled egg on eggy Sunday and used the remaining two Rachel eggs to make scrambled egg with a large pinch of chilli flakes to give it some umph. It certainly went well down well with smoke salmon.

As I finished breakfast the sun appeared so my decision on what to do was made easy and I made my way to the Motor House to start work.

The spraying started off slowly as I had to repair the topcoat where the bonnet clip had fallen back and chipped the paint I then noticed a couple of small areas where the topcoat was thin and the undercoat was showing through. Fortunately the part I ordered for my airbrush had arrived on Friday so it was a simple job to touch up the offending areas and I found that I could then lacquer coat them straight away with no rubbing down. Slowly during the day I built up momentum and at close of play I had sprayed the offside bonnet the nearside front mudguard and the rump of the car. Which although I say it my self is looking absolutely spiffing. I am very pleased with what I've done. I'm not sure I've got enough lacquer coat so during afternoon tea I ordered another litre from the place in Brighton which is not the cheapest but I should get it on Tuesday.

It was a bit of a rush to tidy up by half five as the Boys and Co were going to Skype as this now seems the norm on a Sunday evening. We spoke to them all for an hour and three quarters and even in there thirties Ashley and Hayden are still having a go at each other. At one point they were having a go at who was the better swimmer. Hayden is a natural swimmer who said that Ashley swims like a drowning squirrel.

So how are things going with imprisonment. Well after going out on a shopping expedition on Thursday I don't think I'm missing anything and I certainly will not be doing that again in a hurry. The Bentley is still taking up my time in an enjoyable way especially as I am now beginning to reap the rewards of my labour as the bodywork nears completion but there is still a long way to go. I also have other none car things that I want to get done so I can go on enjoying this imprisonment for some months to come. I'm still quite happy confined to home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.