pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Monkeys off my back

Mondays suck. They really do. The silence that falls over the house once the children have been returned to their mother is blah blah blah, yeah, I’ve done this one, I know and I’m used to it now.

I had a lovely weekend with my children and whilst there is always sadness at seeing them go, it is instantly replaced in the knowledge that they are in the best place as both they and I would struggle immensely if I were to maintain a full-time job and look after them. To those parents who are doing just that (including my colleagues): hats off to you, I don’t know how you do it. I really don’t.

I sent them off this morning with a post-cereal monkey bagel (pictured here), it’s only a silly little thing, but it makes them smile every time before the monkey is quickly devoured.

The remainder of my day has been taken up with work and then a quick post-dinner run in the rain, which felt strangely good and rewarding.

Tired now though.

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.