Silver linings

Some years ago, my Twitter bio ran "Perennial seeker of silver linings', which is fair summary of one of my personality traits. In fact, it's my knee-jerk response to any bit of bad news to try and see a positive. Over the years, I've learned to rein this in - people who've lost a leg don't necessarily want to hear about their future savings in shoe-buying* - but it's nearly always there. (Except, of course, for *really* bad news.)

Still, it's hard for me to ignore the lockdown dividend of my daily walk with Dan. Not only does it lend some focus to my day, it helps me to to work in the afternoon as I have a deadline for finishing. And then there is the benefit of an hour or so in his company each day. As with my older daughters when they were learning to drive, suddenly I'm enjoying some easy time with him when we can chat and hang out. And although we do spend most of the time talking, we have also become comfortable walking in what's known as a "companionable silence", which is curiously enjoyable.

Another silver lining has been the coincidental good weather. Not only has this meant that my walks with Dan have mostly been in the sunshine but it has resulted in the Lune's lowered water levels, which has made it a far more interesting river to visit three or four times a week. In fact, a hidden and unsuspected beauty has been revealed. 

*I know this doesn't work literally as shoes are bought in pairs. Just leave it be. 

****
-9.0 kgs
Reading: 'Underland' by Robert Macfarlane

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.