A bird in the hand?

On her way back to Salford, this morning, the Minx dropped me off in Borwick, so that I could run back home. On the way there, tracing the route that I would run back along, we saw a handful of people by the railway line, which usually indicates that a steam train is going to go past at some point.

Running out of Borwick, I went over a bridge and looking down I could see what appeared to be an old railway station. Borwick's such a small place that it seems bonkers that it would have a station but it turns out that it did. As you can see, I stopped to take a photo and then continued on my run. 

A little while later as I was running along a lane just down below the track I heard the distinctive toot of the steam train. As I ran, I took off my camelbak and got my phone out but I was just a few seconds too late to get a photo of the train as it went past.

The irony is that if I hadn't stopped to take a photo of the station, I would have been in a good place to take a photo of the actual train!

****
Reading: 'Touching The Void' by Joe Simpson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.