Cowardly concrete

I tried meditating a couple of times many, many years ago but I always seemed to end up falling asleep. However, when I took up running - and got past the point where I spent the whole run thinking about how much I hated running - I found that was good meditation time. (Or what I consider to be meditation, at least.)

It's helped by the fact that I can't listen to music when I'm running, partly because I need to keep an ear out for cars but mainly because I simply can't enjoy music as I run. I've no idea why. So that's the time when I can just let the cogs spin free and let my mind do what it wants without any distractions. In a world of smartphones, iPads etc, that's really valuable.

Walking is different and I can listen to music (and enjoy it) while I walk although sometimes I take that as thinking time, too, which I did this evening, strolling 'round to Booths.

****
Reading: 'Touching The Void' by Joe Simpson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.