Two walks and a dishwasher

We live on the side of Salford that butts up against Manchester and there are some lovely walks immediately around where we live but this morning we decided to take our walk back into what one might call Salford proper.

To be honest, the bit we walked through is mostly high-rises, shops, schools, and housing, but on such a sunny morning it was really very pleasant, especially as it was around the time that lots of people were walking to work and to school.

Later on in the day I was back at my other home, and after dinner I said to Dan and Abi that I was going to pop out for a walk (I am back on my steps at the moment). Happily, they both opted to come with me, so we had a delightful evening walk around the new houses*. People do chat a lot more when they're walking.

As a bonus, while we walked the dishwasher was cleaning the dinner things. I think it fell ill either just before or very early in the first lock down. And while Toobys - our excellent local electrical firm - were able to come out when the washing machine broke, they said they couldn't look at the dishwasher as it was deemed 'non-essential'. Bloody Tories. (The government, not Toobys.)

However, they did come this afternoon and thus we have returned to a world of squeaky clean crockery and cutlery. Hooray!

*Which is where I took this photo. It is very rural.

****
Reading: 'Touching The Void' by Joe Simpson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.