fotoday

By fotoday

Shottle

What glorious weather today. Having spent the morning gardening it was beginning to get to hot to work. I needed a few more perennials so I had a little drive up to Shottle, a small village where I had seen a plants for sale notice at one of the old stone houses. It was a delight, the old chap was glad to chat and I was happy to listen. He is suffering with dementia and other mental health issues but finds keeping busy bringing on his plants and making wooden planters, bird boxes and dolls houses helps him. He knew the rules about not getting too close and so invited me to go ahead on my own into his old barns and workshops to see what he was up to. They were a typical mess but the more fascinating for it. He had lots of healthy plants for sale and I was happy to buy more than I had planned to. Please put the money in that pot he said because I can't touch anything these days.
The view is from his house.
When I got home the robin, in extra, was wanting to know where I had been, or at least where his mealworms were. Things are getting active again as feeding started yesterday. I would love to know how many chicks they have.
A lovely evening meal in the garden and a forecast for even better tomorrow. Life with a little restriction lifted is pretty good right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.