brambleblossom

By brambleblossom

Last minute !

Another slightly out of focus Blip but I like the effect and it pleased my eye.
Today has been blessed with lots of contact with friends and family . Got another poor score on the family quiz, which animal has the largest eyes , how many hearts does an octopus have, which bird of prey has recently returned to breed in Lancashire and so on . Our youngest Son , Nathanael has composed the quiz, each round has a different focus and “animals “is meant to be one of my strengths . I hope he has done a round on geology , it’s my only hope .
I had a lengthy chat with my school colleague friend, staff are on a weekly rota at the moment for going in and are understandably anxious about how they are going to manage safely the return of the children . Our authority has decided to open schools to Reception and Year 6 from June 8th which gives a little more time for thinking through the protocols.

After 5 tries I finally managed to get through on the phone to my Dad who has been on my mind . He has a very poor short term memory with various diagnoses and is finding it hard  not being able to go out or have visitors. I have been trying to get through since Sunday but as it happens it was tonight that he needed the call as he had got himself into a very upset state. Part of the decision to retire now was so that I could spend more time with him , we live two and half hours drive away in Leicester and I was looking  forward to taking him out on weekdays for drives in the country with stops for tea and cake . He often gets really down and confused if he forgets to drink So at least I was able to alert the staff who care for him and they have promised me that they will try and get him to up his fluid intake. I am just so grateful that I still have a dad around to talk to and although it’s sad that he has dementia it has actually brought him unexpected blessings . He used to suffer terribly from anxiety but now he generally lives in the present moment and the anxiety has gone. He used to be quite volatile in his moods but now the inner gentler , peaceful soul has the upper hand . He has always been a man of great faith with a strong heart for social justice and somehow despite loss of mental faculties he manages to retain those passions and remain himself . 
Feel grateful and blessed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.