Tiny Tuesday ....

.... Gray Catbird.

I had a frustrating day today trying to get my Tiny Tuesday shots.  It was quite windy so the wildlife was few and far between.  I had set out this tiny cup in the hopes of getting a chipmunk for my other squirrel/chipmunk centric journal but was surprised when this gray catbird came and took a peanut.  And he's not the only one ... the Blue Jays and Robins also snagged some!

Based on the condition of this catbird's beak and legs I would have to say he/she is an older one.  This year the catbirds seem less afraid of me and often come quite close to me and I'm able to get close to them while they are at the feeders.  I'm glad of this turn around as they are my favorite summertime bird .... second only to hummingbirds!

I saw my first Eastern tiger swallowtail butterfly in the backyard this afternoon.  I was so excited to see him/her as I've been waiting for the chrysalids we have overwintered to emerge.  And seeing this one in the wild has given me hope that they will finally emerge.  Fingers crossed. 

Pennsylvania COVID-19 by the numbers (as of 1:30 PM today 5/19/20):
Positive cases in Pennsylvania  - 63,666* (an increase of 610)
Negative cases in Pennsylvania - 286,034
Number of deaths in Pennsylvania - 4,624 (an increase of 119)
Cases in Northampton County - 2,758 (176 deaths)

* Total case counts include confirmed and probable cases.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.