Porkybrown

By Porkybrown

Pleasant Paddle

A trip to Sawley today to 'visit' Deborah's folks - I waved from the pavement and Deborah went down the path! We had stuff to deliver so all duly done and an excuse for we two to go down to Trent Lock, about a mile and a half from their house, for a walk along the River.

It was warm and there were quite a few folk out, though observing distancing - none more so than this self isolated fella calmly cruising on his board. You wouldn't get me on the water on one of those things!

Good to see a thriving nesting colony of Sand Martins, using cracks and crevices in the walls of the lock (see extra). There were two or three dozen I'd say - how this compares with numbers in previous years I don't know. We did see about four swallows too - four more than I've seen around home lately. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.