Porkybrown

By Porkybrown

Gray Wagtail

With slightly eased restrictions we were able to venture a little further afield today and went for a walk from Gumley (about 5 miles from our house) to Saddington Reservoir. I thought I might just take the phone for snaps but at the last minute popped my compact camera into my pocket. I'm glad I did as the phone wouldn't have got this image. The TZ80 has an amazing 30x zoom which worked well on this occasion as this image at full magnification is cropped in even further.

I've always wondered why this bird is called 'grey' when it usually looks far more yellow (to my eye) that the Yellow Wagtail. I would happily see it renamed the Gay Wagtail but that would probably be deemed to be politically incorrect these days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.