Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Variation on a theme

So this evening I walked in a different direction, along the length of Gijón's main San Lorenzo beach. I managed to avoid walking into the sea in spite of my frequently fogged-up glasses. One of the joys of wearing a mask.

Apparently it is OK to go more than 1 kilometre if you are going for a coffee, so my daughter has been meeting up with friends in cafés with big outdoor terraces several kilometres from home. She reports that the the cafés are being quite good about having tables spaced out and having to queue, one metre apart, to wait for a table to come available and be cleaned between customers.

Earlier on, this afternoon, we met at the cemetery for the placing of the ashes of my mother-in-law to in the niche already occupied by by her husband. Fourteen of us were there. I believe the maximum allowed is fifteen. It was all over in ten minutes, no formalities but nice to see some family and friends that I haven't seen for a while, and it was a very nice day for it. I sometimes walk through the cemetery during my lunchtime walk. Now I know where the niche is I'll be able to pay a visit from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.