RavensRoost

By RavensRoost

One Bliss...

Taboo To Boot 

One bliss for which
There is no match
Is when you itch
To up and scratch.

Yet doctors and dowagers deprecate scratching,
Society ranks it with spitting and snatching
And medical circles consistently hold
That scratching's as wicked as feeding a cold.
Hell's flame burns unquenched 'neath how many a stocking
On account of to scratch in a salon is shocking!

'Neath tile or thatch
That man is rich
Who has a scratch
For every itch.

Ho, squirmers and writhers , how long will ye suffer
The medical tyrant, the social rebuffer!


On the edge of the door let our shoulder blades rub,
Let the drawing room now be as free as the tub!

I'm greatly attached
To Barbara Frietchie.
I'll bet she scratched
When she was itchy.


 ~ Ogden Nash

I looked out my bedroom window this morning to see this rabbit at his/her ablutions. I have seen many rabbits,  however, I haven't watched one while it was grooming. We planted a Coral Bark Maple at the edge of the woodland and sprinkled wildflower seeds to cover the bare ground. 

In the extra, you can see the rabbit lounging near the tree, amid these young wildflower starts. Did this rabbit stop to enjoy the quiet beauty of this spot...or was she/he taking a break from munching to take a scratch? I fear the latter is the truth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.