Peony

Unexpected rain this morning but it is fairing up already so I'll be out soon for a walk.

My blip is of a peony in the garden. Although it's not a great photograph I'm blipping it today because I think it might succumb to the forecast gales in the next couple of days. It has significance for two reasons. It's the first peony I have grown successfully since we moved to this house in 1986. Then there was a beautiful peony which for reasons I now find inexplicable I decided to move. Schoolgirl error. Of course it sulked and disappeared. I've never, despite trying, till this year been able to grow one to flower.

Secondly this plant came from the herbaceous border, lovingly planted over many years, by my dear friend E. E died five years ago leaving a gap in the lives of many people. Her husband gave me the peony and a few other plants a couple of years ago. And this year - behold an actual bloom. I hope it carries on in this vein for many more to come.

Hoping for another warm sunny day. Yesterday was just lovely and although the rain is helping the garden I'd like a return to yesterday's temperatures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.