World Bee Day

Today, 20th May, is World Bee Day. In its honour I must have taken 100 photographs of bees. Most of them were terrible and there were at least 30 of no bee at all, it having buzzed out of the frame. Even though I have a bit of time on my hands these days I have to call a halt at some point. Here is the best of the bunch, a busy bee on the cotoneaster. I presume that's the pollen basket you can see on her leg. She really has been busy.

One worrying thing is that, although it feels to me a perfect day for bees (sunny, warm, no wind to speak of), there aren't that many in the garden. I know there's been a nasty bee virus and it feels as if the population is lower than I'd expect.

Bees are brilliant!

A good early walk before it got too hot. Actually the temperature here is pretty well perfect. We have a couple of days of this ahead. Lovely.

Some admin to do then yoga tonight. And that'll be Wednesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.