Another Country

Today, for the first time since March 2020, I boarded a train. The trusty LNER Inverness- Kings Cross service leaves Stirling at 10:34 and should reach London about 16:00. Through various owners and franchisees I've been getting this train south, and its partner service north, for decades. Until the past 15 months that is.

To say I feel anxious about the journey after so long is something of an understatement. But here I am, just passing through Morpeth and blipping a photograph of lovely Alnmouth. Crossing the border felt, as always, a bit of an event but actually the whole experience today is an event.

Anyway it's given me an opportunity to do something I used to really enjoy which is blipping from a moving train. I'd forgotten the challenge and I'm at the wrong side of the aisle for photography to the east.

Newcastle next, then Darlington, York and London. From Kings Cross a quick nip to St Pancras for HS1 to Ashford. If only we were on the journey for happier reasons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.