... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Norbury Hall Park: One in Hole

Keener for attention in large.
Extra: 
Parent with chick
Hidey hole

I took macro (& flash) photos in the garden in the morning and found a hoverfly ovipositing on the apple tree, so thought I'd be blipping a hoverfly shot, BUT then Im and I went for our afternoon walk I heard this great spotted woodpecker chick peeping. We spotted its parent on the trunk nearby. I sneaked closer but the parent zoomed off, and although it tentatively approached a few times (over about half an hour) it wouldn't return to the screaming chick while I had a clear view... We left them to it, but it was a treat to see the chick popping its head out of the hole, even if I couldn't catch the parent feeding it.

Others here (or right from Hoverfly in Convolvulus with sunlight)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.