A day of two halves

At long last, a wander up and into the wonder.
I set off very early, I knew the forecast was for the worst of the weather first thing, and that's kinda what I wanted
I'd thought about something more challenging, but when I found myself mentally working my way through justifying why something that falls well well inside my competence might look risky to Joe Public I realised it was the wrong call. Striding Edge is always a good alternative.
In extras is a view of a lone sheep I met on Swirral Edge, which is kinda why you're not getting a view from the summit.
On my descent the weather gradually improved more and more, by the time I hit the valley floor I really fancied a swim.

Usually I'd swim from Glencoyne Bay, maybe out to Norfolk Island, but as I pulled into a completely full carpark I could see at least 30 people in the water having fun, and really disappointingly, a couple of large groups (10+) having barbecues.

I sloped off to a far quieter little bay and enjoyed my first wild swim of the year (extra). Made the rookie mistake of forgetting my wet shoes. I can confirm the rocks in Ullswater are exceptionally sharp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.